For some reason the marketing of this film doesn’t get me overly excited for this upcoming X-Men film. It’s a shame because the talent in this film is great and this film is adapting my favourite X-Men villain and features the return of my favourite Mutant (Nightcrawler! FTW!). The trailers haven’t been bad but they never grabbed my attention completely or created a serious excitement for the film. The trailers come and go and I just wait for the release date, my excitement going to other upcoming films.

The final trailer unfortunately didn’t change that, that doesn’t mean I didn’t like what I saw, this film does look amazing it just didn’t grab me. The focus on this trailer is on Jennifer Lawrence as Mystique, an amazing character from 2014’s Days of Future Past, however her role as a hero and leader of the X-Men in this film has always confused me. With that focus the trailer shows a lot of updated shots of footage with seen before: Apocalypse and the horsemen, X-Mansion exploding, Angel vs Nightcrawler, Beast vs Psylocke, Apocalypse vs Professor X. It has a more action packed feel to it than before, All the younger X-Men getting ready to take on the threat, some humour here and there, the trailer presents X-Men: Apocalypse as an epic action film.

The focus on Jennifer Lawrence doesn’t take away from the rest of the cast, the younger cast members get a larger spotlight in a way: Quicksilver, Nightcrawler, Cyclops and Jean Grey all get a moment. Michael Fassbender, James McAvoy, Oscar Issac and Nicholas Hoult all get their moment as well although they are pretty much the same from the other trailers. It is strange: incredible cast, director, action sequences and a film that really could bring the biblical end of days for the X-Men should get me really excited but this trailer could not do it.

The whole trailer overall does the job but I’m not writing off this film at all because it didn’t get me hyped. Bryan Singer is a fantastic filmmaker and his X-Men films are part of why superhero films are as popular as they are today so I’m not underestimating this film’s potential. I thought Days of Future Past was the best superhero film of 2014, so Singer’s follow-up is hopefully of that same quality.

Also (SPOILERS) the end tag of this trailer does get me excited however I feel the reveal of Wolverine in the film again would have been best left in the film. We all know Wolverine was probably going to be in the movie to set up Hugh Jackman’s final film in 2017 but there is a point on how much you should show. Wonder Woman with Batman v Superman, Spider-Man with Captain America: Civil War and now Wolverine in Apocalypse. This trend needs to stop unless the Wolverine reveal is just a smokescreen to the real surprise cameo of the film: hopefully a certain Merc with a Mouth? (fingers crossed)

TRAILER: X-Men: Apocalypse – Final Trailer

X-Men: Apocalypse is released 18th May 2016

Trailer Score: 3.5/5

Review of Film: X-Men: Apocalypse (2016) – ★★★

