So it looks like Chucky is finally coming back.

I’m not a huge fan of the Child’s Play franchise, I barely remember much from the first film but for some reason the character of Chucky has always stuck with me. It might have something to do with my fear of evil animated dolls so I’m trying not to look too much into it.

The upcoming film is a sequel to the 2012 film Curse of Chucky, which was a DVD release only but was praised for being a terrific return for the franchise. We’ll try and track it down for a review before this upcoming film comes out. Not seeming to showcase any new footage, this trailer serves as an “announcement” showcasing clips from all the previous Child’s Play films, so I am curious to see what the actual tone and storyline is.

I feel the initial announcement of this film may have been served better by featuring actual footage from the film in hopes of getting as many people excited as possible. Yes the trailer plays to a nostalgia factor but I’m not getting excited for this until I actually see something definitive. I do hope that the final film will be something worth seeing mostly because all the modern movie monsters have had reputations destroyed by horrible reboots so it would be nice to see one bring terror to the audiences again.

I guess the best thing to do right now is to find a copy of Curse of Chucky and see if the future of Chucky could be worth our time.

Cult of Chucky is released in 2017

Link: Cult of Chucky – Official Teaser Trailer

